top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Bravo!

Holy cow guys, it's been awhile since my last blog post *cough* February 2017 *cough*. So much has changed, but I promise I won't give you a full year and a half update--I'll keep it short and sweet. In fact, I'm just going to focus on tonight: the moments that made me realize I needed to jump back in here with an update.

I was so excited about this evening! Audrey had her first observation practice at Westside Dance Academy where Will and I got to sit in her studio and see her interact with her peers and her teacher. We've witnessed her practice a few moves at home. Between plies, leaps and twirls, Audrey is consistently a girl on the move. She LOVES dance and it's fun to watch her get excited every Monday when she knows she has dance class to look forward to after a fun day at daycare.

But today was special. Today we got to take a sneak peak at her doing what she loves. And I didn't realize just how powerful that moment would be as a parent.

She stretched. She twirled. She tried new moves. She focused intently on her teacher and did her best to mimic the technique.

And she was good. Really good!

She may only be 3 (4 next week!), but you could truly see the love she has for dance in her eyes. She's going to be amazing--not only do I see it... but I feel it! Dance is totally her thing and we will support her 110% for as long as she shows interest in being the best ballerina she can be. And as a parent, I was beaming with pride. To see your child doing what they absolutely love and pour their whole heart into it.... no words can fully describe it. It's the best!

But on the way home, I was talking with my mom and I lost it and broke down. This moment for any parent is big. But for us, it's huge. For a minute I was taken back to our first drive home from Iowa City. If you've been with me on this blogging journey, you'll recall that was the appointment we were told they thought Audrey would be blind. I didn't know what our future would hold. And yet, here we are. She's rocking it. She's strong. She's smart. She's brave. She's so kind and loving. And she's a dancer. And I will forever be in the crowd yelling "Bravo!"

Audrey, I hope you always stay the passionate, kindhearted, beautiful ballerina you are today. You are amazing.

Love you always.


bottom of page