top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

cutest pumpkin in the patch

So it's been way too long since I last posted, but to say things have been crazy around here would be an understatement. Even before we went on our family vacation to the Wisconsin Dells, I had started brainstorming ideas for Audrey's first birthday party. Will and I decided on the theme, 'Our Little Pumpkin is Turning One', and I went Pinterest crazy. I spent several evenings and time on the weekends leading up to her birthday crafting and scheming. And while I kept busy, Will kept busier with work and even made a stressful whirlwind of a trip to LA for all of about 4-5 hours the day before Audrey's party (returning that morning of the party).

But everything came together and I was thrilled how it all turned out. Sure I still had other crafts that didn't get done, but I wouldn't have had her party any other way. Here are some pictures of the cutest pumpkin in the patch at her party and some details about the handcrafted decorations and food of the day. Also, a huge thank you to our friends and family who came to help us celebrate!

I was so incredibly happy with how the island turned out. The beautiful white dishes were a steal from HomeGoods that I can reuse for future parties. When researching pumpkin parties, I found the awesome carved pumpkin used as a cooler and thought it was such a fun idea. It was super easy to make and it worked great. Will's major contribution was to fill the pumpkin with the best Octoberfest and Pumpkin Ales he could find. The fluffy '1' was also a simple creation made from cardboard with crumpled pink and orange tissue paper glued to it. The gold 'A' was an inexpensive wooden letter I found at Walmart that I just spread glue and sprinkled glitter on. To add a little height and visual interest, I took a circle paper punch to scrapbook paper and glued to pink and white striped twine. Several of these were draped between the lighting we have above the counter and it made for a cute backdrop that provided a little visual separation between the island and the kitchen.

The mantel was decorated with more paper punched garland, small pumpkins that I attached bows to, some backpainted glass vases and a few picture frames featuring some of our favorite photos from the past year. For some background music, Disney was streamed on Pandora.

An appetizer of bacon-wrapped little smokies was served with 2 choices of barbeque sauce. Yum!

The birthday girl, herself, decked out in Baby Gap pink and gold sparkled corduroys, polka dot denim jacket and an Oshkosh B'Gosh gold lettered 'Yay' onesie.

Some of my favorite pictures from the last year were easily turned into coloring book pages with a couple quick Photoshop adjustments. This fun activity was a hit!

When I was deep in Pinterest posts, I came across this beautiful set up that I just had to try to recreate. The paper fans were super easy to make out of tissue paper I purchased at Party City. The bunting was made from the same scrapbook paper that became the garland and table confetti.

And what's a pumpkin party without a pumpkin cake? A huge thank you to Creme Cupcake, Des Moines, for making these beautiful cakes that were perfect for the theme! And they tasted just as good as they looked!

By far the easiest decoration made : the framed saying. I found several phrases that would've been appropriate but thought this one was too good to pass up. A couple minutes in Photoshop, $1 to print on glossy paper at OfficeDepot, an existing frame and voila!

These sandwhiches are a new staple in our household. You can find the recipe for these easy and delicous sandwiches here.

It's my party and I'll nap if I want to. Yay. ;)

Happy birthday, sweet Audrey! I hope you had a fun day filled with love, laughter and all things pink & pumpkin! I can't wait to see what next year brings!


bottom of page